Biz Miss

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Happy 2010! January 3, 2010

Filed under: creativity,sketchbook — bizmiss @ 12:45 pm
Tags: ,

On New Year’s Eve I drank more spirits than was comfortable, all in the wrong order.  Then I piled about a pound of shellfish and butter on top. It was delicious at the time, and I felt delightfully “spinny,” but later I felt uncomfortable enough that I woke up early on New Year’s Day.  Needless to say I did not leave the couch, or my pajamas.

I wasn’t in a state to do much more than recover, but I’m trying to ramp up the Thing-A-Day commitment in 2010.  Most of the rules remain the same with a few exceptions (in red).

  1. I can make anything.  It doesn’t have to be “crafted.”  I can make a ten-second drawing or write a two-line poem.
  2. I can copy someone else’s work for practice and new ideas.
  3. I can make a project from someone else’s instructions or from a book.
  4. I can substitute half an hour’s work on an existing project, but not if rule #3 also applies.
  5. Craft/design work for clients counts.
  6. I can make something I’ve already made before, but not two days in a row.
  7. I cannot make two things one day in order to skip the next day.
  8. I do not have to post the results of any day’s work if I don’t like it.
  9. A project is finished when I am done working on it.  It doesn’t have to be complete.
  10. At least once a week I need to make something that can be posted in my shop or in my portfolio, or at the very least, on this blog.

Since it had to be something I could do on the couch, Friday’s hangover thing was a new sticker mandala.  Both festive and confusing.  Seems about right.

I hope all of you had a relaxing and happy holiday season.  Happy 2010 everyone!

 

3 Responses to “Happy 2010!”

  1. karrie Says:

    This sounds like a very motivating resolution. I kinda want to try something like this…. Do you keep track in any formal way what you have done each day?

  2. bizmiss Says:

    Well, the to-do list on my computer automagically adds “make something today” to my list every day and I check it off once I’m done. The things that I like I tend to post up here. Otherwise, it goes in a notebook, portfolio or recycling bin.

    I do have a lot of empty notebooks, though. Maybe I’ll start recording what I’ve made. Thanks for the idea!

  3. writerleeanne Says:

    I just found your blog via Design*Sponge, and I absolutely love this idea. I am going to try something similar myself. Thank you – and good luck!


Leave a comment