Biz Miss

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Works in Progress March 28, 2010

Filed under: diy,fairs and shows,Working from home — bizmiss @ 4:36 pm
Tags: , , ,

I know it seems like I’ve fallen off the face the earth, but really I’ve just fallen very deeply into a project vortex.  There’s lots to be done before WonderCon next weekend, and by far the  largest undertaking (literally) is a seven-foot-tall version of Mitch the Monster for Neon Monster’s booth.  Since I’ve never built anything of this scale before, I’ve had a few setbacks, mostly material-related.  The structural engineering of an 18″ stuffed animal is VERY different from that of a larger-than-human-sized display.

A. took this photo a few days ago when I was tracing out the pattern pieces on our living room floor.  It’s the only room in the house large enough to accommodate a single one of these pieces.  There are four of each of these pieces making up the monster’s body.  He’s still not quite done (I’m having eye issues), so I’m going to get back to it now.  I’ll be back to posting useful things in a week or so…on my brand new almost-finished web site!  Get psyched!

 

One Response to “Works in Progress”

  1. Helen Says:

    I can so relate- once made a set of lifesize animals from a mouse to a walrus
    http://tectonic-industries.com/tectonic/installation/tuesday-night-8pm/
    Those were the days! Good luck with it!!


Leave a Reply

